Etymologically, the name Polynesia comes from "polys" (several) and "nesos" (islands). And indeed, Polynesia is made up of 118 islands scattered in the middle of the South Pacific, grouped together as five archipelagos of islands and atolls: the Society, Tuamotu, Gambier, Marquesas and Austral archipelagos. Tahiti is one of the many islands of Polynesia, located in a territory as large as Europe, both immense and tiny at the same time.

The economic and political hub is Papeete, which is also the capital of French Polynesia and home to nearly two thirds of the territory's inhabitants.


tahiti_1 tahiti_2



The Polynesian dream is a reality they live every day; in the waters of the lagoon with its multi-coloured fish, in the cool mystical valleys, on land with the easy living, the sun, the beach, the coconut trees, the "vahinés" (beautiful Tahitian women), the flower necklaces and sarongs, coconut oil, surfing, ukuleles and pearls...

Visitors are always overcome by a profound sense of joie de vivre and tropical adventure, a sweet pleasure, scented with flowers and sea spray to be found nowhere else.

Nature is rich and generous, offering everything needed to live, just like the Garden of Eden; the luxuriance of its mountains and the hues of its lagoons are beyond description. The thousand-year-old culture of these islands is equally amazing for its wealth and beauty.

The main activity in the archipelagos is farming with the production of copra made from coconuts, providing the greatest income in the Tuamotu Archipelago. Elsewhere, fishing and tourism are the mainstays.